Art in Progress

Life is like art. In progress until it is completed.

But does the beauty lie in the process, the product, or the moment?

I painted this portrait/scene for my aunt, Gilly, from a photo of her sister, Sally, who died when I was but knee-high to a daisy.

Both skyline paintings were commissioned by a woman who lives to fillย her walls with art, and I had such fun playing with the colours, lines and perspectives of illustrated architecture.

I did this comic for Ja magazine to accompany a true story about a man who sat in beside a balie who died during an overnight flight. I feel wicked for laughing – but imagine a man passing out besideย to a man who has passed away as they fly over Africa?

Kumalo7

I met Kumalo at a poetry evening a few months ago andย he had a look atย my little black book before commissioning this portrait. It took some time, a million little marks and several black pens – but it’s finally finished and ready for framing.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

