Cue: Editions 4-6

Art reviews, op-ed illustrations and presentations on graffiti and poetry – these three editions were crammed with interesting experiences and etiquette.

Edition 4:

Illustration: Cue’s Daily Op-Ed

I finished my articles earlier than I expected, so I offered to do illustrations for any articles that were without images. I ended up drawing/painting this for an op-ed article about how people never fill rows of seats from the middle, especially the jazz crowds that range from leather-wearing punk personalities, and tired, retired couples.

Review: Keith Dietrich, Fragile Histories, Fugitive Lives

Keith Dietrich dressed to match his artworks – it was immaculate art. From what he told the crowd who followed him around the gallery, the exhibition’s conception is implicated in the ideas it attempts to critique. Independently of this contextual info, the display is a delicately handled statement about violence and victims.

Keith Dietrich, Fragile Histories, Fugitive Lives

Edition 5:

Think!Fest presentation: Ewok, My Poem is a Public Space

Ewok is like a Renaissance rapper – he is everything from a graffiti and hip-hop artist, to a director, father and teacher. And he was keen to have a photo-shoot in a rather smelly drain, standing in front of his ten-year-old graffiti work – the real deal.

Ewok, My Poem is a Public Space

Fest Etiquette

This was Sean’s idea, and I was absolutely thrilled to be asked to illustrate – so we collectively brainstormed in the newsroom, and then I sat down to draw…

Fest Etiquette

Edition 6:

Review: Monique Pelser, Conversations with my Father

Pelser is a photography lecturer, which came through in her style of presentation for the walkabout tour. She was wonderfully wise and engaging, and I was inspired by her ability to and bravery in exposing her heart through art.

Monique Pelser, Conversations with my Father

Review: Freedom of Expression in Broad Strokes exhibition

My first version of this article followed a completely different train of thought, entirely missing the objective. I was beyond grateful for all the lessons I learned through reworking the article. Also, I was beyond inspired by the satire soldiers.

Freedom of Expression in Broad Strokes

Leave a Reply

