A drawing a day for a week

I love to draw. I especially love drawing for special people.

So, for seven days, I devoted myself to completing a drawing for someone dear every day for a week. And now, I share that with you.

IMG_7451

Beautiful Three, SR de Villiers 20 June 2015

My godfather is unimaginably generous with his wisdom, time and love, and I’ve wanted to do a drawing for him for ages. Finally, I found the time and the perfect picture, and now I can give this to him.

IMG_7455

A woman in the Forbidden City, SR de Villiers 21 June 2015

I am blessed with the most beautiful grandparents, but I can never find the words to thank them for all that they do for me. So I try to put it on paper with pen and paint. For the story of her face, click here.

IMG_7480

Tasting Travel, SR de Villiers 22 June 2015

My bestie has gone overseas for her holiday, and I hope that her travels are truly terrific and as wonderful as this world. The poem in the map-napkin (which folds open to reveal a knife and fork that are decorated in clocks) reads:

Travel. Quickly, Go see the world before you make up your mind about it and so that while you have time to change it.

IMG_7493

The Sun Spirit, SR de Villiers 23 June 2015

The spectacular soul who inspired and received this portrait is sunshine in my life – she’s also the only reason I survived this semester !

IMG_7504

The Dancers, SR de Villiers 24 June 2015

This was very much an experimental piece – I was trying out new drawing techniques and styles. After finishing the drawing of the morning dancers, I carried it with me for awhile, not quite knowing who I had drawn it for. Turns out, it was destined for my great-aunt and uncle who I saw for dinner a few days later.

IMG_7509

The face of Xi’an, SR de Villiers 25 June 2015

I have spent the last two months trying to find the perfect face to draw for a truly phenomenal woman. On my adventures, I met this incredible man who looked at my camera’s lens while he buried himself in my heart. His face was as beautiful as the soul I sketched this for.

IMG_7481

Africa I am African, SR de Villiers 27 June 2015

I didn’t draw this for somebody, I didn’t draw it nobody and I didn’t draw it for myself.

Firstly, I hardly drew it. For the most part, it’s a collage that I then worked into with pen and paint.

Also, I didn’t plan it. At all. I sat down with a pile of old pictures and just played around. This was the result.

When I look at it, I see my African identity – my roots are buried in this land but my leaves want to stretch to the sky.

We live in a wild world, where borders are invented and blood stains the soil and the sea – but my heart will always be the shape of the land that has shaped me.

Bonus drawing: I drew this cartoon for some truly dear humans, so the humour is just for them.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

