Wanderlust

Postcards,
Splattered across all four walls.
Poems,
Scrawled on the back of your hand.
Pictures,
Sketched by golden candlelight.

I am going to sail through all the skies and befriend a jeweled dragonfly.

Sunrise,
Another promise to the land.
Seaside,
Abandoned in the winter winds.
Snowbells,
Adorning emerald meadows.

I am going to have my ankles tickled by enchanted weeds and my skin blessed by a dusty breeze.

Artists,
Clustered in colorful promenades.
Azaleas,
Cascading from twisted branches.
Ashes,
Captured in a gemstone jar.

I am going to get lost in the rain and wear nothing but daisy chains.

Clouds,
Free as free could wish to be.
Cages,
Forsake the shackles of your mind.
Comets,
Fleeting light of long dead stars.

I am going to kiss forgotten moonbeams and bottle discarded dreams.

Flames,
Desire as it scalds the soul.
Freckles,
Dusted on the perfect muse.
Feathers,
Dancing to Autumn’s soft tunes.

I am going to caress every corner of this star spangled cosmos and set fire to the sun.

And when I lower my gaze,
To trace this world in the palm of my hand,
The roots of a willow tree will map
A single grain of sand.

Leave a Reply

